Original Flavor – This Is How It Is


Please select the audio quality below. What is FLAC?

SKU: N/A Category:


1 This Is How It Is 03:44
2 When I Make It 04:03
3 Best Friend’s Girl 03:30
4 Way Wit Words 03:13
5 Kick The Butta 04:59
6 Waitin’ 4 My Break 03:27
7 Handle The Technique 02:52
8 Give ‘Em Some Wrek 02:43
9 Gumdrops 03:52
10 I Like It (Freestyle) 03:49
11 Brain Storm 04:44
12 Swingin’ 04:34


“This Is How It Is” is the debut studio album by New York rap group Original Flavor, released on March 17, 1992, under Atlantic and Atlantic Street labels. The album showcases the group’s distinctive boom bap, conscious, and jazzy hip-hop styles, reflecting their unique approach to the genre.

Featuring 12 tracks produced by Ski, the album includes samples from prominent artists such as Richie Havens, George Benson, Eddie Harris, and Herbie Hancock, demonstrating Original Flavor’s appreciation for various music styles. Songs like “This Is How It Is,” “When I Make It,” and “Best Friend’s Girl” showcase the group’s lyrical prowess and ability to create catchy, memorable tunes.

“Kick The Butta,” produced by Clark Kent and Larry Larr, samples The Commodores, while “Waitin’ 4 My Break” incorporates a sample from Steve Cropper and Carla Thomas. Other standout tracks include “Handle The Technique,” “Give ‘Em Some Wrek,” and “Gumdrops,” highlighting the group’s versatility and creativity.

The album was recorded at Firehouse Studio and Quad Recording Studios in NYC, mixed at the same locations, and mastered at The Hit Factory by Herb Powers. Executive produced by Clark Kent, Damon Dash, and Darien Dash, “This Is How It Is” laid the groundwork for Original Flavor’s future work in the hip-hop scene.

Although the group disbanded after releasing their second album, “Beyond Flavor,” Ski continued his career in the music industry, working with Roc-A-Fella Records and producing tracks on Jay-Z’s debut album, “Reasonable Doubt.”



MP3-320, FLAC (Lossless)


Go to Top