G-Lo – The Funky Overthrow


Please select the audio quality below. What is FLAC?

SKU: N/A Categories: ,


1 Intro 01:07
2 Striven 04:04
3 Street Degree 04:52
4 2 Years 04:13
5 Special ”K”s Rap 01:15
6 Hard Head 06:24
7 Greenbacks & Stacks 06:31
8 Southern Hospital 05:45
9 High-D-Hoe 04:34
10 Just The Menace In Me 03:39
11 Smooth Like Butter 06:35
12 Fame, Fortune & Wealth 04:19
13 Pimpis, Playas & Hustlers 05:17
14 Cat Daddy 04:32
15 Outro 01:47


“The Funky Overthrow” is the debut studio album by rapper G-Lo, who originally hails from Houston, Texas, but later relocated to Oakland, California. Released in 1997 under the label Taipan Recordz, the album features G-Lo’s distinct G-Funk style, which was popular during the 1990s.

Comprising 15 tracks, the album begins with an “Intro” and takes listeners on a journey through G-Lo’s experiences and perspectives. The album features a mix of hard-hitting tracks like “Street Degree” and “Hard Head,” as well as smoother, laid-back tunes such as “Smooth Like Butter” and “Southern Hospital.” Throughout the project, G-Lo showcases his lyrical prowess and storytelling abilities, immersing listeners in his world.

The majority of the album is produced by Freddie White, with the exception of tracks 2, 9, 10, and 12, which are produced by Herb Partlow. Their combined expertise creates a cohesive sound that blends G-Funk with elements of West Coast hip-hop, setting the stage for G-Lo’s unique style.

“The Funky Overthrow” serves as a testament to G-Lo’s talent as a rapper and his ability to adapt to different musical landscapes. From Houston to Oakland, G-Lo managed to create a sound that resonated with fans of G-Funk and West Coast hip-hop alike. This debut album is an essential listen for those interested in exploring the rich history of hip-hop in the 1990s.



MP3-320, FLAC (Lossless)


Go to Top