Da Folks – Oakland Soldiers


Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.



1 Savagely 04:41
2 The Session 05:21
Featuring – Busta B.
3 Oakland Soldiers 05:14
4 The Potion 02:02
5 Sik Thoughts 04:43
6 Freak The Flow 02:36


“Oakland Soldiers” is the one and only release by the rap group Da Folks from Oakland, California. This mini-album, released in 1995 by Basement Flavor Creations, is available exclusively on cassette tape. Showcasing a distinct gangsta hip-hop style, the EP features six tracks that highlight the raw talent and creativity of the group.

The EP kicks off with “Savagely,” followed by “The Session,” which features Busta B. “Oakland Soldiers,” the title track, highlights the group’s pride in their city and includes cuts by D-Funk. As the EP progresses, listeners are treated to “The Potion,” “Sik Thoughts,” and the final track, “Freak The Flow,” produced by Turntable T.

Da Folks made their mark on the hip-hop scene with this EP, showcasing their unique style and commitment to their craft. Recorded at various studios such as Power Play Studios, Show Me Some Love, and Sephia Sound, “Oakland Soldiers” exemplifies the group’s dedication to producing high-quality music.

The EP’s artwork and visual elements were brought to life by Aswad Aarif and Visual Concepts, while the engineering and mixing were done by Big Dre. Lyrics for the EP were crafted by A.M. Boissiere, A.W. Boissiere, and J. Sandeford, with management provided by David Jah.

Although it remains their only release, “Oakland Soldiers” by Da Folks is a valuable and rare addition to any hip-hop enthusiast’s collection. The EP is a testament to the group’s talent and the vibrant Oakland rap scene of the mid-1990s.


Go to Top