D-Bone – Blackman


Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.



1 Face The Facts 04:55
2 Pull The Trigger 04:13
3 Real In The Ghetto 04:37
4 Can’t Fuck With Me 03:44
5 Oakland Mack 06:52
6 Street Thang 05:36
7 Never Come Close 03:48
8 It’s All Good 04:15
9 Blackman D-Bone 03:31
10 Flip Flop A Hoe 05:28
11 Outtro 04:54


“Blackman” is the only studio album by Oakland-based rapper D-Bone, released in 1993 by Steel Toe Records. This cassette tape-only release showcases D-Bone’s talent as an artist in the gangsta rap genre, reflecting the grit and energy of the early ’90s West Coast hip-hop scene.

The album features 11 tracks, divided into two sides: Side One (O-G’s) and Side Two (Youngsters). Opening with “Face The Facts,” the album quickly sets the tone for the rest of the record with its powerful lyrics and hard-hitting beats. Other standout tracks on Side One include “Pull The Trigger,” “Real In The Ghetto,” “Can’t Fuck With Me,” and “Oakland Mack,” a song that pays tribute to the rapper’s hometown, featuring vocals by Brenda Vaughn.

Side Two of “Blackman” continues to deliver D-Bone’s signature gangsta rap sound, with tracks like “Street Thang,” “Never Come Close,” and “It’s All Good.” The title track, “Blackman D-Bone,” highlights the rapper’s storytelling skills and unique flow. The album concludes with “Flip Flop A Hoe” and “Outtro,” wrapping up the listening experience with a strong finish.

The album was produced and engineered by Baby Ray and Gino, with DJ Ice providing scratches. “Blackman” was recorded and mixed at J Note Productions. Larry Anderson handled the design and graphics for the release, while photography was done by Kali. The album was executive produced by Douglas James and Kali James, with co-executive production by Andrew Williams.

Although D-Bone’s career may have been short-lived, “Blackman” remains an important part of the early ’90s West Coast hip-hop scene, capturing the essence of the genre and showcasing the talents of a promising rapper.


Go to Top