Cosmic Slop Shop – Da Family


Please select the audio quality below. What is FLAC?

SKU: N/A Category:


1 Intro 01:55
2 Betrayal 04:52
3 Hoe Games 03:55
4 My World 04:25
5 Don’t Tell Me 04:53
6 Collage 03:57
7 Da Family Intro 01:42
8 Da Family 04:14
9 Twizms 05:08
10 Sinful 04:45
11 Got It Made 04:49
12 Butterscotch 05:12
13 If Lovin’ You Is Wrong 04:57
14 Mission Control 00:47
15 Sellin’ To My Crowd 04:40
16 Da Bump 04:20


“Da Family” is the only studio album by the rap group Cosmic Slop Shop, comprising members Rick Rock, Big Lurch, and Doonie Baby. Released on June 2, 1998, under MCA Records and Mtume Music Group, this album showcases the trio’s unique blend of hip-hop and gangsta rap styles.

The album features a total of 16 tracks, starting with an “Intro” followed by songs like “Betrayal,” “Hoe Games,” and “My World.” The title track, “Da Family,” and their hit single “Sinful,” which peaked at #66 on the Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart and #18 on the Hot Rap Songs chart, are standout moments on the album. Other noteworthy tracks include “Got It Made,” featuring backing vocals from Long Time Coming, “Butterscotch,” “If Lovin’ You Is Wrong,” and “Da Bump.”

Rick Rock took on the role of producer for the majority of the album, while Mike Mosely produced tracks “Twizms” and “Got It Made.” The album features executive production by Damu Mtume and James Mtume, with co-executive production by Mike Mosely.

Despite the moderate success of the single “Sinful,” the group disbanded after the release of “Da Family,” with Rick Rock and Doonie Baby going on to form The Federation alongside rappers Stressmatic and Goldie Gold. Big Lurch was incarcerated in 2002 for a gruesome crime committed under the influence of PCP and was sentenced to life in prison in 2003.

“Da Family” remains an essential listen for fans of late 90s hip-hop and a testament to the unique talents of the Cosmic Slop Shop trio.



MP3-320, FLAC (Lossless)


Go to Top